Exclusive Timepieces 7 December 2019 | Monaco LOT 16
Rolex Very Rare and Attractive GMT Master Automatic Wristwatch in Steel, Reference 16 750, With Black Matte Dial, Date, Bracelet and Original Paper, Retailed by Linz Brothers Dallas
Estimate € 25,000 – 50,000
The item will be sold under “Temporary Importation” and import VAT will be charged on the hammer price, ONLY if it is delivered within the EU. See the GENERAL TERMS & CONDITIONS of the sale.
Material: Stainless Steel
Reference N°: 16750
Case N°: 9516351
Movement type: Automatic
Bracelet: Stainless Steel
Dimensions: 39 mm
Signed: Dial, case and movement
The first GMT model, Reference 6542, was launched in 1954 and is immediately recognizable by the bright acrylic or “bakelite” bezel insert with the twenty-four hour markings printed on its underside.
Next came the now iconic reference 1675, made from 1959 to 1980. Reference 16 750 (the present watch) followed in 1981 introducing the quickset feature and a new higher beat caliber 3075 movement. With this update the order of the hands changed from GMT/Hour/Minute/second on reference 1675 to Hour/GMT/Minute/Second on the new model.
Much to the delight of collectors, the 16 750 retained some of the character of the 1675 with the continued use of an acrylic crystal. Discontinued in 1988, the 16 750 is now a highly desirable model. The present watch is a very nice exponent of this family still very well preserved: the tonneau-shaped case in stainless steel is embellished with a nice Oyster bracelet with deployant clasp. The black gilt dial sees applied luminescent numerals with white-gold edges, the Mercedes-style hands and the arrowhead 24 hour indicator hand. The bidirectional revolving bezel calibrated for 24 hours has the classic red-and-blue structure now iconic and immediately recognizable. Moreover, right under the center of the dial and precisely over the GMT-Master designation, is locater the vey rare signature of the American retailer Linz. Linz, a jewelry firm, grew from the efforts of five brothers whose history started in 1877 in St. Louis. Soon they moved too the center of Dallas firstly in the Cockrell Building, and in 1899 to the seven-story Linz Building. After the firm’s co-founder Joseph Linz retired in 1907 the name was changed from to Linz Brothers. Its unforgettable logo, with the letter N backwards, has been printed on some very few watches and adds an interesting element to the dial that makes it extremely desirable to collectors. This lot therefore represents an almost unique piece that only one lucky collector will be able to proudly say has graced his/her collection.